Taking a step back

One of the most important parts of the design process can be getting distance from your work. It may seem like your convincing yourself of this because you love napping or you really want to go out tonight but it’s true that taking a step back can reveal a lot more than mindless graft day-in day-out. Now I’m not saying that napping is the answer because we all know that napping often leaves you irritable, bed-headed and more tired than when you lay down, one of the great mysteries but there you go. What I’m pushing for is responsible work-ethic, working during the day and relaxing in the evening, taking a step back from the drawing board can be a relief and an exercise in itself. This is why I don’t pull all-nighters, I go to sleep before 12 and I wake up early so that I have a regular and happy work-pattern rather than a mad rush to the finish.

This is why, since our final crit on Tuesday (which didn’t exactly go well) I’ve been taking several steps back, out of the door of my room and out into the real world for some much needed unwinding. It’s also great to be home, way from other architect students for, although they are my close friends, the constant updating on how much work is done and needs to be done can drive you absolutely bonkers.

So since Wednesday I’ve been to see the football, had a late breakfast, driven home, watched a film, and had a lovely dinner with my Dad. Not a particularly archi-centric post but maybe that’s the point.

N.B. If you have a Pinterest Account, feel free to add me on http://pinterest.com/JackHughesMsa/

0 Responses to “Taking a step back”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment