Architecture + Film … Amour

I went to see Amour on the weekend, the new Michale Haneke film. I’ve only seen a couple of his films before: Hidden and Funny Games and this was both very different and yet similar. All are films in incredibly close quarters, often only having a few shots of the outside world and focus on a drama unfolding in the home. Amour is just a beautiful film, it was like that elderly couple on the bus that you observe and they’re talking about a classical music concert that they’ve been too. Except its for 2 hours which is great, and one of them’s dying which is not great. It was deeply moving and because of the closeness you had a real familiarity with the characters but also their environment, you got to know every aspect of the flat in Paris. This stands in stark contrast with some films I’ve seen recently when characters are forced upon the viewer and you couldn’t give a care whether they live or die, in this you were effected and drawn in. This was drawn from memory a few days after I saw the film and I really can imagine every corner, really recommend it.

1 Response to “Architecture + Film … Amour”


  1. 1 авиабилеты в Турцию April 23, 2013 at 3:16 am

    I leave a leave a response when I like a article on a site or I have something to add
    to the discussion. Usually it is triggered by the sincerness displayed in
    the article I browsed. And after this article Architecture + Film Amour | Arch1505.

    I was actually moved enough to leave a thought :) I actually do
    have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it appear like some of the remarks come across like left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are writing at additional sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list the complete urls of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


Leave a Reply

